Overview-

What does it mean to be successful? What's the relationship between failure and success? Do the stories we tell ourselves about success and hard work add up?

We'll be exploring these ideas through Malcolm Gladwell's best-selling book Outliers

As we read, we'll complete four, multi-draft papers and practice foundational composition skills including brainstorming, organizing, revising, formatting, and proofreading.

Live Class Format-

This is a live class, which means that we meet weekly over Zoom to discuss the readings, go over writing tips, and ask questions about assignments.

While we do meet weekly, much of the work for the class will be completed independently. Assignments open each Monday and are due by the following Sunday, giving learners flexibility to complete work in the way that works best for them throughout the week.

Students can also interact with the instructor and each other via our class discussion boards.

Supplies-

Learners will need the following:

  • A copy of Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell (ISBN 978-0-316-01792-3) (used copies are fine; borrowed/library copies are acceptable but it’s preferable for learners to have their own copy so they can take notes in it)
  • Microphone and camera for in-class participation
  • PDF Reader
  • Zoom (free account)
  • Learners will submit work through Google Drive (a Google (Gmail) account can be acquired for free)


Ages: 13-18

Class Size: 3-10 Learners

Class is from September 12-December 11, 2022 with live meetings each Tuesday from 3-3:45pm Eastern/2-2:45pm Central/1-1:45pm Mountain/12-12:45pm Pacific. 

There will be a fall break from October 17-October 23 with no live meeting on Tuesday, October 18


Learners who miss a live session for illness or schedule conflict will still have access to all the week's materials and can reach out to the instructor with questions. 

Supplies

To participate successfully in class, learners will need the following:

  • A copy of Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell (ISBN 978-0-316-01792-3) (used copies are fine; borrowed/library copies are acceptable but it’s preferable for learners to have their own copy so they can take notes in it)
  • Microphone and camera for in-class participation
  • PDF Reader
  • Zoom (free account)
  • Learners will submit work through Google Drive (a Google (Gmail) account can be acquired for free)


This course is closed for enrollment.