Join the 2021-2022 Teen Book Club!


Researchers have repeatedly found that our minds play tricks on us and that an over-reliance on intuition can make us vulnerable to inaccurate assumptions.

In The Invisible Gorilla, readers will learn about the evidence of our deceptive intuitions and find the authors' advice on how to avoid the pitfalls.

How Live Book Club Classes Work

Participation in the live book club includes access to a set of resources and activities as well as interactive components.

Participants receive

  • A suggested reading schedule
  • PDF reading guides with comprehension questions
  • Vocabulary/reading activities
  • Discussion board posts in our online classroom
  • Writing/multimodal project prompts related to the reading
  • An invitation to a live discussion
  • A recording of the summary of the live discussion
  • An optional feedback add-on for the final paper/project
  • Rubrics for at-home feedback

Families are welcome to use as much or as little of the suggested resources and activities as they'd like to fit their interest and schedules.

Ages:

13-18

Content Note:

This book uses real-life examples of times that intuition was inaccurate. Some examples include (non-graphic) descriptions of crime, terrorism (including 9/11), and stereotypes.

Dates:

January 1-31, 2022

Live Meeting:

Thursday, January 27 from 11am-12pm Eastern/10-11am Central/9-10am Mountain/8-9am Pacific

Those who cannot attend the live session will receive a recorded summary.

Supplies:

  • A copy of the book The Invisible Gorilla by Christopher Chabris and Daniel Simons (ISBN: 978-0-307-45965-7). Borrowed, used, and audio formats will work.
  • Zoom account for live session
  • Microphone and camera for live session
  • PDF reader
  • Access to printer recommended


Select a pricing plan and sign up