Join the Summer 2021 Tween Book Club!


A return to the world of Emelan, this is the second book in "The Circle Opens" series, taking place 4 years after "The Circle of Magic" quartet.

"Daja and Frostpine expect to have a peaceful winter’s visit with old friends in Kugisko, a port in the vast empire of Namon. But there is no peace when mysterious fires begin to blaze across the vulnerable city. Daja assists Bennat Ladradun, a local firefighter with a tragic past, to fight the flames. The two become fast friends-until they realize the fires have been deliberately set, and their relationship is deeply tested. Daja’s magic helps her track down the firestarter, but no magic can protect her or Ben from the effects of madness and betrayal." (http://www.tamora-pierce.net/)

How Live Book Club Classes Work

Participation in the live book club includes access to a set of resources and activities as well as interactive components.

Participants receive

  • A suggested reading schedule
  • PDF reading guides with comprehension questions
  • Vocabulary/reading activities
  • Discussion board posts in our online classroom
  • Writing/multimodal project prompts related to the reading
  • An invitation to a live discussion
  • A recording of the summary of the live discussion
  • An optional feedback add-on for the final paper/project
  • Rubrics for at-home feedback

This particular book club series runs as a three-week session to accommodate all four books in the series.

Families are welcome to use as much or as little of the suggested resources and activities as they'd like to fit their interest and schedules.

Dates: July 17 - August 6

Live Meeting: Friday, August 6, from 1-2pm Eastern / 12-1pm Central / 11am-12pm Mountain / 10-11am Pacific

Those who cannot attend the live session will receive a recorded summary.

Select a pricing plan and sign up