Join the Fall 2021 Tween Book Club!


Ghost is an award-winning novel that tells the tale of Castle "Ghost" Crenshaw, a kid who is running from his own past and crashes the school's track practice. When the coach puts him on the team, he finds more than a sport. What happens when we have a community of support to help us through our hardest times?

How Live Book Club Classes Work

Participation in the live book club includes access to a set of resources and activities as well as interactive components.

Participants receive

  • A suggested reading schedule
  • PDF reading guides with comprehension questions
  • Vocabulary/reading activities
  • Discussion board posts in our online classroom
  • Writing/multimodal project prompts related to the reading
  • An invitation to a live discussion
  • A recording of the summary of the live discussion
  • An optional feedback add-on for the final paper/project
  • Rubrics for at-home feedback

Families are welcome to use as much or as little of the suggested resources and activities as they'd like to fit their interest and schedules.

Ages:

9-13

Content Note:

This book mentions domestic violence, gun violence, and alcohol abuse.

Dates:

December 1-31, 2021

Live Meeting:

Thursday, December 30 at 11am-12pm Eastern/10-11am Central/9-10am Mountain/8-9am Pacific

Those who cannot attend the live session will receive a recorded summary.

Supplies:

  • A copy of the book Ghost by Jason Reynolds (ISBN: 978-1-4814-515-7). Borrowed, used, and audio formats will work.
  • Zoom account for live session
  • Microphone and camera for live session
  • PDF reader
  • Access to printer recommended
  • A Discord account (optional)


Select a pricing plan and sign up