Join the Fall 2021 Tween Book Club!


Spark tells the tale of a young girl named Mina who has longed to become a storm guardian all her life. Despite being known for her quiet demeanor, she hatches a lightning guardian — the wildest and most unpredictable of the beasts. As she questions whether she's really cut out for her own destiny, she learns why it takes someone with a different kind of perspective to change the world.

How Live Book Club Classes Work

Participation in the live book club includes access to a set of resources and activities as well as interactive components.

Participants receive

  • A suggested reading schedule
  • PDF reading guides with comprehension questions
  • Vocabulary/reading activities
  • Discussion board posts in our online classroom
  • Writing/multimodal project prompts related to the reading
  • An invitation to a live discussion
  • A recording of the summary of the live discussion
  • An optional feedback add-on for the final paper/project
  • Rubrics for at-home feedback

Families are welcome to use as much or as little of the suggested resources and activities as they'd like to fit their interest and schedules.

Dates:

November 1-November 30, 2021



Live Meeting:

Monday, November 29 from 3-4pm Eastern/2-3pm Central/1-2pm Mountain/12-1pm Pacific

(Note: This time is different from most of Dr. Parrinello-Cason's fall book clubs because of Thanksgiving.)

Those who cannot attend the live session will receive a recorded summary.



Supplies:

  • A copy of the book Spark (ISBN: 978-1328973429). Borrowed, used, and audio formats will work.
  • Zoom account for live session
  • Microphone and camera for live session
  • PDF reader
  • Access to printer recommended
  • A Discord account (optional)


Select a pricing plan and sign up